5 LGBTQ+ Documentaries I’ve Added To My To-Watch List

Whenever I watch a movie I always think, “That was great! I should do this more often!”

But then I… don’t do it more often. And that’s how my to-watch list ends up getting longer and longer. Don’t worry, it’s still nowhere near the length of my TBR, but it’s definitely longer than I would like. WELL, I’M DETERMINED TO CHANGE THAT. I want to make a dent in that list this coming semester by watching a movie or two on Sundays, when I take the day off from homework and studying.

From that (much) longer list, I made a short list of some of the LGBTQ+ documentaries I am most interested in watching. Enjoy!

1. The Trans List

Narrated by trans activist Janet Mock, this film documents the lives of eleven transgender Americans from all walks of life. I’m interested in it not only because of the range of experiences presented, but because it was made just last year and so should provide a more accurate glimpse at trans lives than some of the more dated documentaries I’ve come across.

2. Major!

Miss Major Griffin-Gracy is a trans activist in her seventies who was present at the Stonewall riots and is still involved in activism to this day! Just watching the trailer makes me so excited to see the rest of this documentary because she seems like such a vibrant, big-hearted individual. TBH I’d love to meet her someday!

3. The Celluloid Closet

In my Media Uses & Effects course a few semesters ago, we watched clips of this documentary when we learned about the representation of minorities in the media. LGBTQ+ representation is something I’m super passionate about, so I know I need to watch the rest of this ASAP. Maybe I could get some friends who are also really into history + storytelling together to watch this when we’re back at school in the fall?

4. How To Survive A Plague

The history of HIV/AIDS was basically glossed over in my education, and I’ve found that people my age don’t tend to talk about it much – to the point of believing it’s not serious anymore! I’ve heard only good things about this documentary, which is excellent because I’m hoping it will serve as a sort of link between and the generation or so before me that was nearly wiped out.

5. Do I Sound Gay?

Do I Sound Gay? takes a look at one of the biggest stereotypes of gay men: Their voice. I’m not really aware of any books on this subject (although if you know of some, feel free to toss those recommendations my way), so I’m really glad I found this doc.

-~-

Have you seen any of the documentaries on my list? (If so, is there one you would recommend beginning with?) Do you have any recommendations for me, based on my taste in films?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 5 LGBTQ+ Documentaries I’ve Added To My To-Watch List

  1. Thanks for sharing these!

  2. Heather says:

    Definitely adding these to my TV TBR! I actually have seen Do I Sound Gay? It was okay, and it provided some interesting historical information about the entertainment industry and a few interviews. It was one of those documentaries that relied on a lot of anecdotal evidence (major turnoff for me, personally), so I didn’t feel I got a whole lot of out it. Still, I hope you like it!

  3. Evi says:

    I don’t have any documentaries- these all sound incredibly interesting, though- but there’s a movie on Netflix called Big Eden that’s basically the gay romcom we always wanted but didn’t know existed?? and it’s honestly super cute and funny. there are also rib-smoking paramedic lesbians.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

