NaNoWriMo 2013: What I’m Writing

In an earlier post, I outlined a handful of my ideas for NaNoWriMo. I’ve since made a final decision about what I’m writing and how long it will be.

I’m aiming for 25,000 words but will be fine with 20,000 if I get really busy, which I probably will. I felt bad about not going out with a bang for my last year in the Young Writer’s Program but I talked to the staff of the YWP website and they said one “graduates” either upon finishing high school or turning eighteen, whichever comes second. Yay! Now I can dream about writing a full-blown novel next year, although in all likelihood I won’t be able to: I’ll be too busy with Scary Senior-Year Stuff. Oh well, one can always hope…

On the main NaNoWriMo site my story is classified as Fantasy but it’s actually more complicated than that. I settled for combining ideas #2 and #4 from the list in the post linked to above. I am writing short stories – LGBTQ+ retellings of fairy tales in different genres – and here’s why I chose that.

I am writing short stories because I have a short attention span. I adore reading long works (and will cry a lot if you take away my beloved thousand-page fantasy epics), but I don’t like writing them. I lose focus. My plot wanders. This time, though, I’m aiming for my stories to be no more than ten double-spaced pages each, so I can’t get bored of them. And if I get an idea in the middle of writing something else, it’s OK to take a break from the first story and try out the second!

I am writing LGBTQ+ because I feel like I should write what I want to read. LGBTQ+ YA fantasy does exist but it is a teeny-tiny genre and I think instead of complaining about that as much, I should do something about it. (That makes it sound like I actually plan to publish these. Hey, maybe I should try. Money for college, yo.) Not all of my stories will have LGBTQ+ characters/themes, but I’m planning for the majority to be like that.

I am writing retellings of fairy tales because they’re fun to adapt. I love fairy tales and have enjoyed adapting some (such as Cinderella) before. It’s fun to change a story I heard countless times as a little kid. I also chose to retell fairy tales because, quite honestly, it’s easy. It’s not completely without difficulty – after all, I have to decide what elements I’m going to change – but I do like having a set plot. I know the bulk of what I’m working with; I just mess about with the details.

I am writing in different genres and/or settings to challenge myself. I don’t want to write fantasy the whole month because A) I’ll get bored and B) I want to try something new. I want to try dystopian, contemporary, steampunk, et cetera. For example, I’m going to rewrite “The Little Mermaid” as either a tragedy or a horror story – actually quite easy if you know the original!

I have no idea what any of the stories, let alone the entire collection, will be titled. But I have bigger things to worry about.

What do you think of my idea? What are you writing next month? And good luck to everyone!

P.S. My username on both the main site and the YWP is nevillegirl, if anyone wants to watch my progress, read an (as yet unwritten) more detailed summary, or whatever.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in LGBTQ+, NaNoWriMo, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to NaNoWriMo 2013: What I’m Writing

  1. Artgirl says:

    You know the original version of The Little Mermaid! *flails, but in a happy way* Bringing awareness about the original versions of fairytales to people is one of my crusades.

  2. Ooh, it sounds like you’d really enjoy Malinda Lo’s writing. I’m reading ‘Ash’ at the moment, which came recommended due to beautiful prose, a cool idea and surprise well-written bisexuals. She has a blog (malindalo.com/blog/) too, with lots of really good stuff on it to do with LGBTQ representation in YA!

    Also, good luck! You’re braver than I trying NaNoWriMo…

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yes! 😀 I actually started reading that and loved it, but then I got distracted by other books. I need to finish it, I only have like 30 pages left…
      I adore her blog (it’s in my blogroll, actually). I just really like author blog that are updated frequently. (Some of my favorites don’t post very often.)

      Thanks!

  3. orphu44 says:

    My excitement has increased considerably just reading this. I heartily approve of your choice of NaNo projects.
    Also this reminded me that this is my last NaNo on the YWP … my Gollum.
    But anyway. NaNo is coming! *bounces*

    • nevillegirl says:

      I’m glad I’m so exciting, then. 😛 And what are you writing about, if I may ask?
      Sad, sad. *tells Gollum to hug you*
      No, silly. Winter is coming. And there must always be a Stark in Winterfell.

      • orphu44 says:

        I’ve narrowed it to two(ish) possibilities, but it’s looking like I may not know for sure until NaNo’s begun. (Living on the edge!) Either urban or high fantasy, though.
        I wondered if that was coming. Sentences with the structure “____ is coming,” are forever GoT references now.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Well, good luck either way!

      Indeed.

  4. Would you be offended or annoyed if I were to borrow your idea? It sounds really cool (and also I was a lazy-arse person and didn’t plan anything) but I’d understand if you crouch over your idea and whisper-hiss “My precious!”

    • nevillegirl says:

      *smacks you with a dead fish* We hates it forever. Bagginses, thief, thief!
      Meh, I don’t really mind. My idea is basically a much smaller version of what other authors have already done, so…
      And it might be cool to compare stories, if we both end up putting story-X into genre-Y.

      (And I’ll respond to the Mega-Comment a few posts back, just not right now. *wiggles fingers* Papers to type for school, precious.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      No no, the fishy likes you! *continues to wallop you with it*
      Then it’s on! Is there a particular story you want to do the same way, just for the heck of it? Just to see how different our versions are?

      *patpat* I finished it, thankfully. Sadly, it wasn’t about, like, fandoms or it’d have been done in a heartbeat. Anyway. I shall return that comment to you shortly.

      • It’s squishy! *screams in horror*
        I was thinking about doing the Little Mermaid with Ariel as a transgender boy. That’d be fun, I think. Other suggestions? Any restrictions/preferences on time period?

        Writing a paper on fandoms… One can only dream. I just get away with subtle references in my work. I think I’ve done Who, Supernatural, and managed a quote from Agents of SHIELD so far this year. Also, I managed to get my English teacher into Who this year, and when we had to do an in-depth character study essay, I did mine all about Rose and 10 and Doomsday and I made her cry. She actually threatened to give me an F if I were to ever mention Doomsday again. >:D

    • nevillegirl says:

      *rubs your face with said squishy fish* Enjoy.
      I had a different idea for The Little Mermaid, but pretty much anything else is open.
      …Princess and the Pea, mayhap? *randomly picks*

      Ooh, me want to read.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

