Spring Into A Summer Of Rereading

I plan to read many books this spring and summer. I always do. There’s The Silmarillion to begin and the Heroes of Olympus series to finish and the Maggie Stiefvater books that I haven’t already read. There’s Insurgent and Allegiant. The Maze RunnerPaper Towns. These Broken Stars. St. Mallory’s Forever. And so on and so forth.

But there are also a number of books I would like to reread. In some cases, I want to experience their awesomeness a second (or third, or fourth, or umpteenth) time. In others, I do remember liking the stories but I don’t remember the plots, so it might be like reading them for the first time (which is always fun!). Either way, much rereading lies ahead for Engie.

The Hobbit and the Lord of the Rings trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien

I love these books – The Return of the King is one of my top five favorites – but boy, were they hard to read. I pushed my way through page after page, enduring just as many if not more sections than I enjoyed. Overall, it’s a really awesome tale, but the first time around I was too focused on the big picture and didn’t stop to smell the roses (aka the little details).

Also, after I reread the books I’ll be in the mood for a movie marathon and the films are spectacular. Sometimes I can even pester my brother into watching with me.

(Side note: Agh, I can’t believe the third and final Hobbit movie comes out later this year. I’m not ready for There And Back Again. I won’t ever be. I’ll probably cry.)

The Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan

070517_LightningThief_vmed_11a[1]Why? Because I consider The Lightning Thief one of the best series openers ever, in any genre, for any age group. Because I didn’t like The Sea of Monsters but maybe my perception of it has changed. Because The Titan’s Curse was my favorite in the series (thanks in part to Artemis and Zoe being adorable quasi-girlfriends). Because I don’t remember a single thing about The Battle of the Labyrinth and The Last Olympian except that, well, there was a battle in the labyrinth and apparently only one Olympian.

And of course, because The Blood of Olympus – the final book in the spin-off series, Heroes of Olympus – comes out this fall and it seems only fitting to return to the original series, to brush up on my Percy Jackson fangirling.

The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

I have never reread this series all the way through. Can you believe that?

I have reread the individual books, but not in order and not all of them. (I’ve probably reread the first, third, and seventh the most.) I get distracted easily, OK? But this time, I’m going to read them all straight through, in order, and not procrastinate – this has been a goal for the past few summers, but hasn’t been accomplished yet because newer books always call to me more.

Mostly, I’m just excited to see how J.K. Rowling drops hints early on and ties everything together so neatly later, because I remember that that was one of my favorites aspects of the books.

The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

I realized something the other day – for as little as I remember of the sixth and seventh books, I may as well have just not read them. That’s unfortunate, so I’ll change that with a rereading. A thorough rereading, not my typical let’s-hit-all-the-high-points-i.e.-the-second-third-and-fifth.

Also, I’m curious to see how much of the Christian allegory is apparent to me now that I actually know about it. I had no idea the first time.

The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins

Why not? There’s only three books, they’re not all that long, and they’re written fairly catching-fire1[1]simplistically. I could probably get through all of them in a day, so maybe I will. Panem is at once both horrifying and fascinating – I love it. Also, I want to compare it to something else.

The Underland Chronicles by Suzanne Collins

I would like to reread her earlier series and compare it to The Hunger Games and its sequels. For example, Ripred and Solovet reminded me of Haymitch and Coin, respectively, and both series are heavily influenced by Greco-Roman mythology.

The Giver by Lois Lowry

Again, another quick read. I know this story so well I scarcely need to reread it – I can tell you the minutia of practically every chapter – but I would like to anyway, for nostalgia’s sake. The book’s premise may not be comforting, but the style of writing is. It’s so familiar to me, and I’ve always admired how Lois Lowry fits words together.

Plus, rereading this will make me even more of an annoying little nerd when I see the upcoming film adaptation in August. Someone may have to restrain me from ranting in the theater and throwing popcorn at the screen.

The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth

0062020560.01.LZZZZZZZ[1]I have three main reasons for rereading this. First, it is a very summery book. The story doesn’t take place during that season alone – it’s actually spread over four or five years – but overall that is how I remember it.

Secondly, I’m jealous of Danforth’s writing style. I love it to pieces. It’s so vivid.

Finally, it’s a very feels-y book. I read a lot of books (mostly fantasy) where characters die left and right and although Miseducation actually opens with two deaths, they don’t have much bearing on the tragic-ness of the plot. It’s sad because… because Cam is growing up as a lesbian in this really conservative small town, and told to hate who she is, and Emily Danforth why would you do this to me.

The Artemis Fowl series by Eoin Colfer

The first five books are utterly wonderful. The characters are complex and flawed, Colfer has a quirky sense of humor, and Artemis’ transformation from potential villain to do-gooder is perfect.

Meanwhile, I don’t remember much about the sixth and seventh books. I felt their plots were really hard to follow – paradoxes and weird timey-wimey things and whatnot. Maybe I’ll understand them better this time.

And I haven’t read the final book, The Last Guardian, yet so I need to catch up!

The Raven Boys and The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

I would just write “The Raven Cycle” here, except that seems weird because only the first two books out of four have been published. Both The Raven Boys and The Dream Thieves are in my top five favorites – I can’t decide which I adore more. I love the characters, the setting (which is almost a character in itself), the writing style, the everything.

Rereading it will help me update my theories as to what happens in book three, too. Eeee, I can’t wait for the next one – it comes out a few days before my birthday so I might ask for it as a present despite having not read it yet (something I rarely do) because Stiefvater’s books are just that good. (Postscript, 4/8: Turns out I was wrong about the release date. It doesn’t come out until almost November.) I’m trusting that this one will be just as polished.

What books do you plan to reread during the next few months, or in 2014 in general?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Harry Potter, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Spring Into A Summer Of Rereading

  1. orphu44 says:

    Ooh, now I kind of want to reread some of these…
    I wasn’t too impressed by the last book of the Artemis Fowl series … I liked the first three books, but after that it felt like a steady decline to me. I like Number One, though. He was a significant part of why I consider The Lost Colony to be the best of the later books.
    As for my own rereading, I’ve been considering rereading the first few Skulduggery books so I can remember when everything was bright and heroic and the betrayals weren’t so terrible.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Agreed. The first three were the best, while four/five were decent, and then I didn’t really know what was going on in the rest.

      I need to stop putting off reading Skulduggery Pleasant. That’s it. I’ll get it the next time I’m at the library.

      • orphu44 says:

        Yeah, it felt to me as though Eoin Colfer just wanted to write Artemis Fowl for the sake of writing Artemis Fowl after a while, rather than writing because he had stories about Artemis Fowl to tell. Things just got weird near the end.
        Do it. I 100% endorse this idea. And then tell me what you think.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Again, agreed. I hate it when authors do that.

      I AM GOING TO THE LIBRARY TOMORROW WHEE I WILL TRY TO CAPTURE THE WILD BOOK IN ITS NATIVE HABITAT. 😀

  2. magicfishy says:

    You know, on the mobile site at least, the cover of Catching Fire appears underneath the heading for Cam Post. Odd.

    Yay, rereads! At the moment, the only reread that I’m planning to do is His Dark Materials – I haven’t read them since I was much younger, so I’ve forgotten a lot of the details (plus, there’s the whole ‘spot the religious/atheistic commentary that I didn’t really get on the first run through’ thing, like you’re doing for Narnia. Speaking of, I should reread those as well…)

    • nevillegirl says:

      No… actually… that was just me. xD I couldn’t find the Cam Post cover in my WP files so I put Catching Fire there instead. I don’t know why. I guess because it would be weird to put it up by THG and then have two pictures at the top and none at the bottom.
      …I’m weird like that.
      Anyway, I fixed it.

      Ooh, HDM. I enjoyed those. It’s weird that they’re more obviously religious than the Chronicles of Narnia, since they were written as its antithesis.

  3. John Hansen says:

    This is not a re-read for me, but I’ve been hearing so much about the Miseducation of Cameron Post lately that, based off your description, I MUST read it. I inherently love the diversity aspect of it, but if it’s also beautifully written and feels-y, then I’m all over it.

    (And I agree–The Lightning Thief was an absolutely incredible opener. It alone hooked me on Riordan’s books for a loooong time. I may have to reread that this summer too.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      I highly recommend it! It made me cry and… that doesn’t usually happen with any books, and when it does they’re usually fantasy.

      (I’m glad you agree. 🙂 I don’t read a lot of MG fiction, but I will never not be fond of Percy Jackson.)

  4. Thomas says:

    You mention so many wonderful books in this post that I don’t know where to start. First, I think it’s great that you’re dedicating time to rereading books – I don’t spend nearly enough time doing that, even though I know it’s a good practice. Have fun with all the series you’ve included; I read all seven Harry Potter books straight through in one summer and it was definitely worth it. Rowling does allude to events in the later books in the first few, so it should be fun to catch those. On a random note, I wonder if they’re considering making the Miseducation of Cameron Post a movie, just because Danforth’s writing style is so cinematic. Anyway, great post, and I’m looking forward to reading your thoughts on these wonderful reads of yours!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you!

      I would LOVE to see Miseducation turned into a film. It would certainly be a welcome change from all the recent dystopian stuff. And diverse movies are always good.

  5. Bane says:

    I think… I’ve read all of those books except for Underland Chronicles, the Giver, Miseducation, Artemis Fowl, and Dream Thieves (the last is high on my to read list!). They’re all wonderful books and I’m going to look into getting those other ones.

    (I get my book recommendations from here.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      I usually don’t like sequels as much as the first books in a series, but I just might like The Dream Thieves better than The Raven Boys. 🙂

      (Ahaha, thanks! *blush*)
      (Also, speaking of books and book recs, are you on Goodreads? It’s like Facebook for bookworms. I find a lot of cool stories there.)

  6. Pingback: A Reader Of Anything | Musings From Neville's Navel

  7. Pingback: Summer 2014 Bucket List | Musings From Neville's Navel

  8. “The snake haired ladies were starting to annoy Percy.” I cracked up when I read that line in Son of Neptune. I love the randomness of the titles and first lines…and House of Hades was just…*sobs*.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

