A Cool Collection Of Articles About Comic Books

Hey, everyone. Today I’m talking about… comics! Actually, today’s post basically just consists of me giving you links to awesome articles other people have written about comics. Kind of like a round-up of interesting links? I might end up doing more posts like this in the future, because sometimes I find a bunch of cool things and need someone to fangirl with. The topics below have been on my mind a lot lately, so I thought I’d share what I’ve been thinking about, comics-wise.

Also, you can definitely expect more comic-themed posts in the near future: Some list posts, some character analysis posts, and a review of Agent Carter. (First I need to catch up on the show, though, and even then… I am perpetually behind with my reviews/fangirlish posts, so I might not even publish that review this month. I still need to write reviews for books I read way back in AUGUST. Whoops.)

Anyway, here are the links.

-~-

The first one is from The Write Practice, and was written by author and blogger Emily Wenstrom. If you haven’t checked out TWP yet, you totally should – they post writing advice every single day, and include a lot of prompts to get you started, as well.

My favorite recent post from TWP is What I’ve Learned About Writing From Comic Books. I’m not going to quote any of it here because the list is so short – only three items long – but it’s spot on. As I’ve read more and more comics, they’ve begun to have more and more of an effect on my writing. I’m much more fond of action scenes now, for example!

So don’t be afraid! Read loads of comic books and find inspiration! They may not be a “traditional” influence for writers, but there are some truly astonishing comics out there that are just as complex as any prose book you’d read. So take advantage of that.

-~-

You might’ve heard the news: Marvel Studios is remaking the Spider-Man movies! I read some of the comics way back when I was a wee Engie, and… he has probably one of my favorite superhero origin stories ever.

And then I saw the first movie a few years ago, and I thought it was ridiculous. Gah, please don’t be mad at me! But it just wasn’t my cup of tea. So I am glad that they’re remaking the movies, and hopefully then this will mean that Spider-Man will be included in 2016’s Captain America: Civil War like he’s supposed to be?

Anyway, they’re recasting the lead actor, so Spider-Man won’t be played by Andrew Garfield anymore. I’m slightly bummed by that, because he keeps suggesting that his character should be canonically queer and that is AWESOME. (And also led to me jumping on the bisexual-Captain-America bandwagon later on, but that will be a post unto itself.)

But on the other hand, recasting the role gives Marvel an opportunity to make its cast a little more diverse. There’s already a Latino Spider-Man, for example, and there have been suggestions that the movies’ protagonist be cast as such.

My favorite article about this whole minority!Spider-Man thing is from Women Write About Comics and it’s called Marvel Studios Gets A Crack At Spider-Man: Why Both Studios Need A Fresh Take On The Web Slinger.

The whole post is well worth checking out, but this quote really resonated with me:

“Peter Parker doesn’t matter anymore.

Peter Parker was the nerdy and awkward teen outcast who got to be a superhero. This was relatable to comic book readers (and later, cartoon viewers) who self-identified as outsiders and who didn’t see themselves in the other larger than life superheroes like Captain America. Parker might have worked in the 1960s and the decades that followed but in 2015, it’s hard to see a cisgender, straight, white guy as a visible outcast.

Stories and characters need to evolve, which is why we got an African-American Annie as opposed to the red-head we all know.

The red-headed Annie no longer makes sense for the story that needed to be told today, when a black girl is more likely to embody who Annie is in relation to the society that surrounds her.”

AAAAAAAAAAH. THAT QUOTE. I couldn’t agree more. Times change, people. And our stories should change with them. If we can write anything, anything at all, why should we keep writing the same old stories?

P.S. So, who would I choose to portray Spider-Man? I’ve seen and heard a bunch of neat suggestions, but my personal favorite is Alfie Enoch. ALFIE ENOCH AS SPIDER-MAN FTW. (And Alfie Enoch as Fletcher Renn, if the Skulduggery Pleasant books are ever made into movies, but I digress.) Alfie Enoch Alfie Enoch Alfie Enoch. Yes. Also, I’ve now typed his name so many times that it’s starting to not look like a real name and more like a random collection of odd letters. That’s such a weird feeling.

-~-

The last thing I’d like to share with you tonight is an article from AfterEllen, which is an awesome site about books/movies/TV/music, entirely run by queer women. I freaking love it.

I loved their recent post How Comic Books Made Me Queer But Gave Me Body Image Issues. Because it made me laugh. And it made me go, “Oh, hey, I can relate to that.” Comic book heroines are awesome and at last count I had crushes on, like, five of them – Kate Bishop, America Chavez, Peggy Carter, Captain Marvel, and Natasha Romanov. (I actually ship Bishop and Chavez with each other and I have crushes on both of them so do you see what my problem is? Gah.)

But, you know, comics are not exactly the best place to find realistically-drawn characters, either. Like, the ladies’ costumes are usually ridiculously skimpy, and there’s way too much fanservicey-gratuitous-cleavage, and I often wonder how such-and-such a superheroine’s body is actually anatomically possible.

And that’s weird and confusing and… eeeegh. Comic book ladies can be excellent protagonists/role models/crushes, but sometimes their creators don’t really succeed at developing other aspects of the characters in a realistic manner.

-~-

Well, now it’s YOUR turn! What do you think about all those posts and links and whatnot? Have you read any interesting articles or blog posts about comics lately? (Share them with me – I’d love to take a look at them!)

Oh, and have you read any good comics lately? I’m just about to start the Ms. Marvel stories!

This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to A Cool Collection Of Articles About Comic Books

  1. Bridget says:

    I’m so excited to see who they cast as the new Spider-Man! I’m really hoping for Miles Morales instead of Peter Parker, but… I dunno. I guess we’ll see.

    It’s pretty frustrating how lacking in diversity the body types in comics are. A lot of the time it looks like the artist just takes the same base for all the women and then changes the costume or the hair or whatever. And sometimes you get a character who’s taller/ bigger, but even then, a lot of the time, they still have the same body type (like Shark-Girl). There is Gert in the Runaways… Have you read those yet?

    Are you reading the new Ms Marvel (Kamala Khan) books? Or the Carol Danvers ones? I haven’t read any about Carol yet, but I absolutely love Kamala.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I’m going to the library today, so while I’m there I’ll try to see if I can find any of the Miles Morales comics! I’ve heard a LOT about them, but my library doesn’t really have that much stuff about Spider-Man – they have a TON of Avengers stuff instead. 🙂

      I know, right? Pretty much ALL the ladies have teeny-tiny waists and gINORMOUS bOOBS (like seriously they look kind of dangerous, what if they whacked themselves in the face during a fight?????) and it’s just weird. The MCU isn’t quite so weird in that respect, but the comics are… eeeeh.
      (Only one of them, so far! But thanks for bringing that up, you just reminded me to go look for the Runaways comics at the library.)

      Well, Kamala Khan is Ms. Marvel and Carol Danvers is /Captain/ Marvel, right?
      (EDIT: Wait, I googled it, and… it looks like Kamala is ONLY ever Ms. Marvel, and Carol is sometimes Ms. Marvel and sometimes Captain Marvel. All right then. Why are comic books so complicated? xD Everyone has at least two names, if not more.)

      • Bridget says:

        I haven’t read anything with Miles yet either, but I’ve heard some really amazing things about his books. My library’s comic collection is pretty slim, though, so a lot of the time, it’s really hard to find exactly what you’re looking for. The Avengers are a lot easier to find.
        It gets kinda scary at points… And none of their costumes have any kind of support, either, since they’re all suuuuper skintight??? Have you ever seen Escher Girls? It’s a blog that does a pretty amazing job of pointing out ridiculous stuff like that.
        No problem! There’s some pretty cool stuff later in the series 😉 Marvel announced not long ago that they’re bringing the series back, which is pretty exciting.
        Yeah, Carol was Ms Marvel at first, and then switched to Captain Marvel. Honestly, the continuity for her isn’t all that bad. Better than Jean Grey’s, at least. But since Marvel is doing an Inhumans movie too, there’s a somewhat decent chance that Kamala will appear in the movies at some point.

    • nevillegirl says:

      I don’t /think/ I’ve seen Escher Girls before, or if I have, then I didn’t spend very much time on that site. But I totally should! It sounds fab. 😀

      Ooh, I hadn’t heard about that Inhumans movie!

  2. Danny says:

    /coughs/ TRY THOR LIKE THE CURRENT SERIES THOR bc shes like adorable okay

    That quote about how Peter doesn’t really work anymore is actually really awesome omfg. Also, which Spidey movie did you watch? I know you said the first one, but was it the Tobey Maguire or Andrew Garfield series?

    • nevillegirl says:

      yES I SHALL SEE IF MY LIBRARY HAS THOSE I CAN’T WAIT ALSO HAVE YOU READ THE GENDERFLUID LOKI COMICS BECAUSE THOSE ALSO LOOK AWESOME

      I know, right?! ❤ And that bit about Annie, too. That's what really made me go, "…oh. OH." Because it's true. Who are these people in relation to the society around them? That needs to change over time because times don't stay the same.
      With Andrew Garfield. 🙂 And… hey, I think /he/ did a good job, but I wasn't too thrilled about basically anything else in that movie. :/

      • Danny says:

        GOOD THEY’RE BRILLIANT
        Uh no, what series is it?

        Ikr. I’m really hoping the rumors that the new Spidey’ll be a POC are true, though I’m not sure about your fancast of Alfie Enoch. Enoch’s awesome (and hot af) but I think a lesser-known actor maybe? Mostly bc I’d see Enoch as Dean Thomas thru the whole thing tho 😛 There’s a post going around with some POC fancasts of several different races, have you seen that one?
        Yeah, I think Garfield did better than Maguire acting-wise, but Maguire’s villains were better (at least they were in the first movie, the second and third ones were kinda shit). I really hope though that they don’t do yet another Parker backstory, I’m kinda hoping for them to pick up the Miles Morales storyline.

    • nevillegirl says:

      YAY YAY
      Ummmm, it looks like… this one? The ones mentioned here? Idk man, I haven’t actually read them yet, I’ve only heard about them: http://thegeekiary.com/loki-agent-of-asgard-writer-confirms-loki-is-bisexual-and-genderfluid/4034

      Ehehe, I /don’t/ see Enoch as only Dean Thomas, so I suppose that fancast works better for me. (And yeah, I have!)
      Saaaaaaaaaaaaame.

      • Danny says:

        Oh yeah, I’ve read one before. It’s okay. I don’t like Loki that much, but the representation is hella.

        True. When he showed up in BBCSH s3 I was like “Dean what are you doing get back to Hogwarts” for the whole episode 😛

    • nevillegirl says:

      *shrug* I’ve never read anything about Loki, unless Kid-Loki counts, but I don’t think it does. Other than that, I only know him from The Avengers and the first Thor movie.

      Ehehe. Isn’t he on How to Get Away With Murder, as well?

      • Danny says:

        Same, though I’ve read quite a bit of fic where he’s a side character.
        Yeah, he is. I can’t see ads for that thing without being like ‘whoa dean what’.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe. Do you watch HTGAWM?

    • nevillegirl says:

      No… but I want to… after I’ve caught up on all the OTHER things I’m watching. 😛

    • nevillegirl says:

      One of my other online friends does, but that’s it… :/

  3. THAT QUOTE IS WONDERFUL. I’m not a Marvel or comics fan of any sort, but I recently saw Annie and couldn’t agree more. Have you ever read the Tintin comics? They’re British-based about a boy detective and super good. 🙂

  4. Cait says:

    *clicks all the links* I only JUST started reading comics and there are hopelessly large holes in what I can borrow from the library. Which makes me sad. WAH. But I’m actually devastated they’re changing Spider Man because I think Andrew Garfield was PERFECT and I loved what they did with the remake. Plus, I’m eternally bummed that they’ll remake Spider man for the third freaking time and not go into any of the other girl superheroes. OMG WHAT IS IT WITH THIS WORLD. *fumes quietly in the background*

    • nevillegirl says:

      *nodnod* I liked HIM, like I think he’s a good actor, but the rest of the movie was pretty silly imho. xD And YES YES I AM ALLLLL FOR MOVIES ABOUT LADY SUPERHEROES.

      …you know… Agent Carter was intended as the test run for those movies, though. To see if people would be interested in a female-led Marvel story. And it did pretty well, so who knows? Hopefully it’ll lead to a Black Widow movie! Hopefully it’ll lead to a second season of AC!

  5. Mo says:

    Aaaaaaaaaah okay I bought myself the first Kamala Khan Ms. Marvel collection yesterday and it was AMAZING.

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.