Graduation

Well, I did it. I graduated today. I AM OFFICIALLY DONE WITH HIGH SCHOOL.

It feels… weird, I guess. Graduating, I mean.

Because on one hand, not much changed: I finished my final assignment, and that was it. I finished my schoolwork for the week and then I was DONE with high school forever. Just like that.

On the other hand, my mind is still getting used to the idea that I am DONE. Because you spend years and years in high school, not to mention in all the grades that come before that, and it’s just like… wait, I’m finally done? It’s already almost time for me to head off to COLLEGE?! Eeeeeeeep.

Anyway, here are some of the things I did on my Very Last Day of School:

  • Stayed in bed until like ten just because I could
  • Worked on a bunch of awesome poetry stuff about Robert Frost
  • Got a TON of messages on Facebook aboutΒ Agent Carter being renewed, which made my day even more awesome (seriously, you guys are the best & thanks for geeking out with me!)
  • Ate lunch using these dorky school lunch trays we have because why not
  • Went for a nice walk with my mom, enjoying the sunshine and commenting on how some the kids at the elementary school just down the road are probably taller than me because I am TINY
  • Wrote a report about aliens onΒ Doctor Who as part of astronomy (which I’m thinking about turning into a blog post, because I had so much fun with it!)
  • Was extraordinarily happy because YAY NO MORE ASSIGNMENTS UNTIL COLLEGE WOW YAY
  • Received my fancy-schmancy shiny new diploma (thanks, Mom and Dad!)
  • Went to a restaurant for dinner

Aaaaand that’s about it, honestly. I did consider “celebrating” by myself by, like, watching some more episodes of Daredevil onΒ Netflix or something, but I’m tired. So I’ll just head off to bed now, I guess, and keep freaking out a little bit on the inside because WOW IT IS ALMOST TIME FOR ME TO HEAD OFF TO COLLEGE AND LIVE ON MY OWN AND WOW I AM EXCITED AND ALSO TERRIFIED.

Time passes really quickly, doesn’t it? I can’t believe it’s already been four years since the beginning of high school, ten years since my family started homeschooling, and thirteen years since my first day of kindergarten.

So, anyway. I’m pretty happy right now, and proud of myself, and looking forward to seeing what happens during the next few years of my life!

Have a lovely evening, and I wish the best of luck to all my fellow high school graduates!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth. University of Iowa class of 2019. Triple majoring in English & Creative Writing, Journalism, and Gender, Women's, & Sexuality Studies. Twenty-one-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, aspiring writer, and lesbian. Passionate about feminism, mental health, comic books, and cats.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Graduation

  1. Pecans says:

    Congratulations! I’ve been subscribed to your blog for quite a while now, and it’s so cool to have almost been on this journey with you! I love your blog so much, and I cannot wait to see what else you end up doing! I think you are a fantastic writer, and you have definitely inspired me, so thank you for just being really awesome! πŸ™‚

  2. Briar Eden says:

    Congratulations Engie! πŸ˜€

  3. THAT IS SO EXCITING!!! CONGRATS!!! When I graduate it’ll be after my last exam, so I guess it’ll feel more…final?? Kind of?? And plus there’s the whole thing of graduating with 160 other people from my grade πŸ˜› BUT CONGRATS OMGGGGG!!!! I want to hear ALL about college, too πŸ™‚

  4. orphu44 says:

    Happy Graduation! Congratulations! *showers you in confetti*
    (I wanted to add something else but I can’t quite think what so I would just like to assure you that I am sending you lots of congratulatory feelings.)
    (Also Agent Carter was renewed??)

    • nevillegirl says:

      *buries herself in the confetti* Thank you! *throws confetti at you as well, for no real reason*
      (*accepts these congratulatory feelings* ❀ Well, if you remember what you wanted to add, just let me know!)

      (YES. πŸ˜€ Omg yes it was and I am already SO EXCITED for season two!)

  5. Precious @ Clockwork Desires says:

    Congrats on finishing high school! I still have to slog through for a couple of years, unfortunately…

  6. Michelle says:

    Congratulations πŸ™‚

  7. Cait says:

    *SHOWERS YOU WITH CONFETTI AND CONGRATULATION CAKES* YAAAAY, GO ENGIE!!!! YOU ARE DONE! YOU ARE AMAZING! YOU ARE….no longer a high school student, ommmggg, **Gasp**. XD These sounds like perfectly brilliant celebrations, particularly the one that involved going out to dinner. XD YAY AND CONGRATS AGAIN!!!

    (And omg I’m so pleased about Agent Carter!!!)

    • nevillegirl says:

      *dances in the confetti and noms the congratulation cakes* THANK YOU! And omg, no, I’m not a high school student anymore, I am… OLD, like YOU! πŸ˜› Just kidding. We can be old curmudgeonly bookworms together. *nodnod*

      (IKR?! AT LEAST ONE MORE SEASON OF PEGGY PUNCHING PEOPLE IN THE FACE. Aaaaah I’m so excited!)

  8. HOLLY says:

    CONGRATS!! That’s so exciting! My graduation is in mid June, so I’ve still got a little ways to go. I really need to start watching Agent Carter and Daredevil- I’ve heard great things about them. Do you know where you’re going to college?

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you! πŸ™‚ And congratulations on your (imminent) graduation, as well!

      They’re both really, really good. VERY different from one another – Daredevil is much, much darker – but I ❀ both shows. πŸ™‚

      Yes, I do! πŸ™‚ I'll be attending the University of Iowa in the fall.

  9. Congratulations! University is scary and wonderful and I hope you enjoy it πŸ˜€

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thank you! Eeeeeep, I have SO MANY COMPLICATED FEELINGS about college at the moment – I’m excited and also a bit terrified! But I’ll make it through, haha. πŸ™‚

  10. Miriam Joy says:

    I can’t believe you guys finish school so early in the year — this time last year I was almost done with lessons, but still had exams (up until the 20th June). Well done on graduating!

  11. Mom says:

    “Was extraordinarily happy because YAY NO MORE ASSIGNMENTS UNTIL COLLEGE WOW YAY”

    What about your Superheroes class? I’m sure there will be oodles of homework for that! πŸ™‚

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yes, but the difference is that I’m taking that class because I WANT to, so I don’t mind the homework! Also, homework involving superheroes is just plain fun. πŸ˜›

  12. Pingback: Senior Year Saturday: Year’s End & A Wrap-Up | Musings From Neville's Navel

  13. Mo says:

    CONGRATULATIONS
    My baby girl is growing up. *wipes tear*

  14. hannwells says:

    Congratulations! I have another year aaaah

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

