Top Ten 2015 Releases I Meant To Read Last Year But… Didn’t | But This Year I Will!

Today I’m linking up with The Broke and the Bookish for their weekly feature, Top Ten Tuesday! This week’s prompt is “top ten 2015 releases I meant to get to but didn’t.”

…this is me. THIS IS SO ME. I suuuuck at staying up to date on the latest releases. Actually, my problem isn’t that I don’t know about them, but that I do know about them – all about them – and then just don’t get around to reading them. I can rattle off a whole bunch of recent and upcoming YA releases if you asked me to, but I usually only read a few per year because I get distracted.

I’m really, really bad at this. SO BAD. THE WORST.

This list ties in quite nicely with my New Year’s resolution to get my TBR list under control, so I’ll have to refer back to it whenever I feel like I have nothing to read! Because… you and I both know that’s a LIE. I have SO MUCH to read. SO MUCH, PEOPLES. HELPPPPP.

Enjoy!

becoming nicole1. Becoming Nicole: The Transformation of an American Family by Amy Ellis Nutt

This is a true story! It’s about a transgender girl, her identical twin brother, and her parents – and their multiple legal battles to ensure that the schools she attended didn’t discriminate against her. I was flipping through this book earlier today, and the writing style seems really engaging!

2. Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy

Things I have heard about this book: The protagonist is a self-described “fat girl” who enters a beauty pageant, there’s tons and tons of body positivity, and female friendship plays a major role. UM YAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY.

3. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

This book has elements from both Roman and Middle Eastern culture! From what I’ve heard, it seems to be… dystopian fantasy, I suppose? For lack of a better term? (OMG, I have like half a post written about fantasy like that because it’s a subgenre I love. I should finish that up and publish it soon, probably. Mostly it’s just me having emotions about Skulduggery Pleasant.)

4. Carry On by Rainbow Rowellcarry on

…sooooo, I’ve mentioned this before, but I am not a huge fan of M/M and F/M couples in most genres. I can’t get enough of F/F pairings in any genre, but M/M and F/M? They pretty much have to be from fantasy or science fiction books to hold my interest, or I end up throwing the book against the wall because I don’t handle most YA contemporaries well. Carry On is about two queer boys in a world inspired by Harry Potter, though, so I expect to have much better luck with it!

(I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately… the other day I was talking to one of my friends about not being all that surprised that I shipped the canon F/M and fanon M/M pairings in Star Wars because OMG CUTIES IN SPACE. DOING SPACE STUFF. Romance in science fiction > romance in contemporaries. Also, this prompted me to draft another half a post. IN ADDITION TO SLACKING OFF ON READING NEW BOOKS, I ALSO SLACK OFF WHEN IT COMES TO ACTUALLY FINISHING MY FANDOM-Y POSTS. UGH.)

5. More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

So I know I JUST said I’m easily bored by M/M in YA contemporaries, but I have heard approximately 3694752 good things about this book, from some of the bloggers whose reviews I trust most. (Thomas @ The Quiet Voice is amazing and you should all follow him, FYI.) So I want to give this one a try!

winter6. Winter by Marissa Meyer

I actually borrowed this from the library, like, two weeks ago, but I still haven’t read it because once I do, there won’t be any new books in this series left to read! I really need to just suck it up and open this book, though – I have a feeling I’ll like it, since I adored the previous three installments. I’m looking forward to finding out more about Princess Winter! I’M SO STOKED ABOUT THE IDEA OF A BLACK SNOW WHITE.

7. What We Left Behind by Robin Talley

I still haven’t read her 2014 novel, Lies We Tell Ourselves, but I’m excited for this one anyway because I’ve never read a story with a genderqueer protagonist before! Also, this is a story about college. I LOVE STORIES ABOUT COLLEGE. THEY MAKE THIS SMALL TRAINWRECK OF A STUDENT FEEL BETTER BY POINTING OUT THAT NO ONE ELSE HAS ANY IDEA WHAT THEY’RE DOING WITH THEIR LIVES EITHER.

8. Under the Lights by Dahlia Adler

Ohhhhh my god, this looks adorable! I mean, the tagline is “Sometimes, the guy doesn’t get the girl. Sometimes, the other girl does.” OK I THINK MY HEART JUST EXPLODED FROM CUTENESS. PLEASE SEND HELP. I follow this author’s blog, and she writes the most amazing posts about diversity and YA and the need for more F/F pairings in fiction.

9. Not Otherwise Specified by Hannah Moskowitz

Yaaaaaaaay for intersectional diversity! Etta, the protagonist of this novel, is black and bisexual. I’ve heard that the narrator’s voice in this story is really strong! Clearly I need to find a copy ASAP.

10. Black Iris by Leah Raederblack iris

I AM IN LOVE WITH THE COVER OF THIS BOOK. The premise sounds pretty amazing, too: It’s a thriller that deals with mental illness, and the protagonist is a bisexual girl. And did I mention that I love the cover?

-~-

Which 2015 releases did you mean to read last year, but didn’t?! If any of the books on my list are on yours also, maybe we can buddy read them and catch up on our TBR lists together!

P.S. As I brainstormed this top ten list, I noticed all the books I was adding to it were super diverse, so… yeah! That was cool, how that happened without me even really noticing or intending for it to be that way.

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, LGBTQ+, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Top Ten 2015 Releases I Meant To Read Last Year But… Didn’t | But This Year I Will!

  1. AHHH DAHLIA ADLER IS AMAZING. Even just her tweets = fantastic. And Winter is amazing, just saying. OOH. So is Carry On ❤

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah, just this afternoon I read a Storyify thing she put together with all her tweets about the lack of F/F and the fetishization of M/M by straight female readers. It was amazing. ❤

  2. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Omg I really want to read Becoming Nicole!! I’m going to look that up on goodreads immediately. *nods* I LOVED CARRY ON. I only read it this week but adfjdaksl so many feels and I shipped it so much. :’)

  3. Miriam Joy says:

    I liked Carry On a lot. 🙂 And An Ember In The Ashes was pretty good, though I don’t remember it very well. I want to read Dumplin’ but it’s really expensive :/

    • nevillegirl says:

      Oh noes! It’s not at the library?

      • Miriam Joy says:

        Not my local one. I’ll check the Cambridgeshire system though. It doesn’t seem to have a very wide release here — maybe a UK thing? Which might explain the price. I haven’t seen it anywhere. But maybe I’m looking in the wrong places.

        • cynthiataco says:

          The same thing happened to me with Runelight by Joanne Harris. It was never published in the U. S. Maybe it doesn’t have a British English version?

          • Miriam Joy says:

            A lot of books don’t have different editions in the UK (except for covers) — I guess they think we can cope with American spellings etc. And it’s available online easy enough, it’s just a bit pricey for me, as I usually buy all my books secondhand because I’m skint.

  4. CARRY ON IS SOOO GOOD. Other than one line. BUT GOOD. And More Happy Than Not is ridiculously cruel to your heart but also ah-ma-zing. (And Adam Silvera is super awesome as well, so.) Winter is amazing as well!
    I want to/need to read a lot of these, as well. I’ve heard epic things about Dumplin’.

  5. There were so many books that I meant to read last year but didn’t, too many for just one post. I can’t wait to read Carry On, but I haven’t been able to find it anywhere at my library! 😦

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

