5 Favorite Books With Green Covers | Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Happy St. Patrick’s Day, everyone! In keeping with today’s theme of GREEN EVERYWHERE, I thought I’d tell you all about my favorite books that have green covers!* Part of the inspiration for this post came from a similar post** published by Holly @ Nut Free Nerd this morning, and part of it came from my own head… I’ve been debating whether or not this would be a fun topic to post about and I decided it was! Enjoy!

*Although the original color associated with St. Patrick was BLUE, apparently?!
**However, unlike her post, mine does not include glorious, gorgeous bookish photography, mostly because I am incompetent. Also, I ran out of time. Also, I left my camera at school by accident.

1. Adaptation by Malinda Lo

It’s been almost three years since I read this and I still think it has one of the coolest covers of any YA novel I’ve seen! It’s very simple, even minimalist, and Amber’s reflection in the water is creepy AF. The plot is unlike anything I’ve seen in YA, too: Where else are you gonna find aliens AND nearly-dystopian settings AND bisexuality AND polyamory? Hmmm?

2. Havoc by Chris Wooding

GOD I NEED TO REREAD THIS SERIES. Havoc, the sequel to Malice, is a wonderfully creepy graphic novel spliced with the regular prose novel format. The fact that the illustrations are in black and white doesn’t detract from the story; in fact, I think it makes it even more amazing.

3. The Maze Runner by James Dashner

I still haven’t gotten around to read The Kill Order and The Fever Code, buuuuuut… I will SOMEDAY. I promise! Maybe I should make that a summer project as soon as school gets out and I have more free time, because I adored this series. I have to admit that the writing was a little cheesy at times, but the setting was OH SO GOOD and really sparked my imagination.

4. Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

Sooooo… part of this cover is blue, not green, but I’m counting it anyway because A) it does include at least some green, B) St. Patrick’s blue is apparently A Thing, and C) I’m a cheater. I love this cover to pieces and I love the story inside, too: I may not know much about the quality of writing in Stiefvater’s other books since I’ve only read this series and The Scorpio Races, but every word here is gorgeous and magical and ahhhh it’s just so so good, you guys. You really need to read it ASAP.

5. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

There are actually a number of problematic elements in this novel I noticed only months after reading it, but I still appreciate its take on anxiety. And friendship. And college. And fanfiction/fandom in general! Also, the romance is really well done, which is something I don’t often say about fictional het couples!

-~-

Did you do anything special or fun for St. Patrick’s Day? And would you like to see me do more posts like this one in the future?

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 5 Favorite Books With Green Covers | Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

  1. Claire says:

    I like your choices of green books! Couldn’t agree more on Adaptation – I believe that was my first introduction to Malinda Lo, and I’m super glad I stumbled upon it. πŸ˜€ I’m curious to hear your thoughts on the problematic elements in Fangirl, because I’m trying to get better at recognizing them in my own reading. I loved that book to pieces because I haven’t read any other books where the MC has social anxiety – so I could really relate. Plus I loved the fanfiction aspect. πŸ™‚

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thanks! I really should reread Adaptation, it’s been so long since I read it for the first time.

      I could do a post about it in the future, maybe? πŸ˜€ The main criticism is basically that it’s about a straight woman fetishizing an M/M relationship instead of having LGBTQ+ characters who are major characters/POV characters.

      • Claire says:

        There are so many books I need to reread… where’s a Time Turner when you need one? That’s a good point about the relationship in Fangirl – I hadn’t thought about it like that, but when you put it that way, I can absolutely see how that’s problematic. I wish Rainbow Rowell had addressed that. I’d be interested to read a post about it if you ever feel the inclination!

  2. Holly says:

    Love this! ❀ I really enjoyed the Maze Runner when I read it years ago, but the rest of the trilogy went in a direction that didn't really do it for me… but that first book was so good!!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah, tbh I had some issues with the rest of the series as well. I liked it overall, but sometimes the pacing was a bit… weird, because ALL OF A SUDDEN someone would die and there would be next to no mourning for that character and I was just like??? Bruhhh you’ve known each other for three books but you’re just going to leave the scene like nothing even happened?! IDK.

  3. Lucille says:

    OH I didn’t know Adaptation was a YA novel! Awesome, I need to read it!
    Oh no you’re making me scared to reread Fangirl πŸ˜₯ I know Eleanor&Parks is VERY problematic, but I didn’t Fangirl was too…

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

