Top Ten Hyped Books I Haven’t Read (Yet)

It’s time for a list! A LIST, PEOPLES. I LOVE LISTS.

Today I’m linking up with The Broke and the Bookish for their weekly feature, Top Ten Tuesday. This week’s prompt is “top ten hyped books I’ve never read.”

Sooooo… you know that reading slump I blogged about, like, aaaaaages ago? Well, I have improved – slightly – but I’m still not reading very much! I definitely haven’t read as much (or as quickly) as I did last year.

AND THAT’S OK. I’m not saying that it’s not OK – but it DOES mean that I’m soooo behind on my TBR list. And I’m super behind when it comes to reading books released either this year or last year! UGH. I need to work on this. Lovely new books are being published ALL THE FREAKING TIME, and my TBR list of older books is already long enough! So this post will be a combination of brand-new books and books that were published a few years ago.

Enjoy!

1. A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin

UGH WATCHING SEASON FIVE WAS SO WEIRD. It combined the plots of A Feast for Crows and A Dance with Dragons, but I’ve only read the first four books! I WAS A VERY CONFUSED LITTLE ENGIE WHEN I WATCHED GAME OF THRONES THIS SPRING. I really want to read this and figure out the differences between the book and the show – especially the stuff that happened to Jon, Sansa, Cersei, Dany, Tyrion, Shireen, Selyse, Jaime, Myrcella, Margaery, et cetera. UGH SO MANY CHARACTERS.

alex as well2. Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

This is urban fantasy! Set in Prague! And that’s pretty much all I know about Daughter of Smoke & Bone, but I’m still super excited to read it because so many of my friends loved this book and recommended it to me.

3. Alex As Well by Alyssa Brugman

I’ve read a bunch of LGBTQ+ books, but never one with an intersex protagonist! YAY FOR YA BOOKS THAT TALK ABOUT GENDER YAY YAY.

4. I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

I’m not completely sure about this one because I’ve heard that it has a lot of purple prose – but hey, I’ll give it a try! Who knows, maybe I’ll be IN AWE of the artsy writing style?!

5. The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey

I REALLY, REALLY WANT TO READ A ZOMBIE BOOK. I’ve never read one before! I’ve only read short stories with zombies. (Clarification: Stories ABOUT zombies. But I’ve never sat down with a zombie and read to it, either. Because I am scared that it would devour my brain.)simon vs. the homo sapiens agenda

6. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

I ACTUALLY BORROWED THIS ONE FROM THE LIBRARY TWO DAYS AGO. It’s an adorable love story! With LGBTQ+ characters! And online friendships! And Oreos! HOW CAN I NOT READ THIS.

7. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

I borrowed this one recently too! I get ridiculously excited to hear about any new YA dystopians, don’t I?! I’ve seen some mixed reviews on this story, but… it’s not like I have to finish the series if I end up not liking it!

8. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

GOSH, that title is a mouthful, isn’t it?! I know next to nothing about this book other than that A) it has a beautiful cover, B) it won a bunch of awards, and C) it’s a love story (?) between a gay guy and a bi (?) guy and at least one of them isn’t white? I think? IF SO THEN YAY FOR DOUBLE DIVERSITY.

ask the passengers9. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

I haven’t read much YA high fantasy! I think Sabriel by Garth Nix might actually be the ONLY one I’ve read so far! I love YA urban fantasy (like Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Cycle and Rick Riordan’s books and Derek Landy’s Skulduggery Pleasant series), but I haven’t really tried YA high fantasy. So I’m EXCITED for something different!

10. Ask the Passengers by A.S. King

LESBIANS. LESBIANS EVERYWHERE. AKSLHGALKGHALDGDGD LESBIANS. Also I’ve heard that this book deals with some topics that aren’t frequently addressed in LGBTQ+ fiction? Like families who don’t support their queer children as much as they claim to, and abusive romantic relationships? GOOD. WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT THESE THINGS.

-~-

Now it’s YOUR turn – what are some books that you want to read due to all the hype surrounding them? Are you eager to read any of the same books I listed here? OOH YOU SHOULD ALSO TELL ME ABOUT THE LAST HYPED BOOK YOU READ. Do you think it deserves its hype?!

About nevillegirl

Elizabeth, University of Iowa class of 2019. Double majoring in English & Creative Writing and Journalism. Twenty-year-old daydreamer, introvert, voracious reader, and aspiring writer. Passionate about feminism and lesbian positivity.
This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Top Ten Hyped Books I Haven’t Read (Yet)

  1. AHHH ok so I love a lot of the books on these lists. I’ve been on a perpetual hiatus in blogging-terms and I SO MISSED COMMENTING ON YOUR BLOG. We have the best fangirlish discussions. I’ll Give You The Sun had a lot of purple prose at first, but as you adjust to the writing style it just sounds beautiful. (Oh, it has LGBTQ representation, too; one of the characters is gay.) AHHHHH and I just read Ari and Dante and while I didn’t LOVE it as much as a lot of other people, I still liked it. Aristotle and Dante are both Mexican-American, and I’m not sure if one of them is bi or gay(?). I think he’s bi, but I won’t spoil it for you. I haven’t heard of Ask the Passengers or Alex As Well. Also I’ve heard a lot of realllyyy mixed things about ACOTAR and An Ember In The Ashes. Both have suuuccchhhh pretty covers, though!

    AHHH OK telling you about the last hyped book I read because I had to go back and read the post because I was so excited to comment whoops 😛 UHMMM it would probably be Ari and Dante, which was like four stars-ish? Or maybe Delirium (Lauren Oliver), which was also three-point-five-slash-four-ish? I don’t know. Or does A Tale of Two Cities count as hyped? I’m reading it now and ITS SO LONG. I don’t know if I like Sydney better than Pip, though. Pip drove me crazy.

    Whoops sorry this comment is so long. 😛 I just suddenly had the time/energy to comment today and my fingers kind of went crazy. 😀

    • nevillegirl says:

      And I missed talking to you! It’s good to have you back. 😀

      Yeah, I knew I’ll Give You The Sun has a gay character. 🙂

      OK, good to know! I REALLY need to read Aristotle and Dante soon. *nodnod*

      Ehehe, sure! Classics are DEFINITELY hyped! OH MY GODDDD SYDNEY CARTON HE IS AMAZING AND SKLAHGSLGJHDFGJFDS.

  2. Artgirl says:

    Ok, I personally loathed Daughter of Smoke and Bone; I thought the MC was a Mary Sue and all of the romance was completely unnecessary. But that’s just my opinion, and I will admit that there’s some really awesome worldbuilding in the book, which was enough for me to at least be able to read it all the way through. And perhaps the rest of the series is better, idk. And some of the others on your list look really good–I’ll have to add them to my list.

  3. Clarice says:

    MUST READ NOW! 😀 For hyped books coming very, very soon, don’t forget ‘Go Set a Watchman’ and ‘Carry On’. 😉

    • nevillegirl says:

      I’m excited for Carry On, but… gah, I couldn’t even finish To Kill A Mockingbird because I disliked it so much, so I doubt I’ll read Go Set A Watchman. 😛

  4. matttblack42 says:

    Can’t wait for you to read a Dance with Dragons (it’s completely different from the TV show, in mostly good ways), although I fear it will be your least favorite of the series, mostly because there’s a lot of Tyrion and he’s at his least likeable. If you didn’t like Tyrion in the first three books, you will hate him here. I didn’t even like Tyrion in this book, and he’s like, my favorite character.

    I also really hated The Fifth Wave. It started out so good, but then there was the most cliched and predictable romance storyline ever (took up way too much of the plot) and the other main POV character was such a Gary Stu. His biggest character flaw was being too kind. Just typing that sentence made me yawn a little.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Wow, really? Yeah, I don’t like Tyrion, so. Um. Gahhhhhh.

      Noooooooooooooooo! Are there any other zombie books that you would recommend instead? 🙂

      • matttblack42 says:

        I thought Boneshaker, by Cherie Priest, wasn’t bad. But then again I had to return it to the library before I even made it to the half-way point, so I’m not the best judge of it.

        Also, there’s no zombies in The Fifth Wave. (Probably should’ve mentioned that before.) There is a character who’s nicknamed Zombie, though.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Wait, what? IDK why I thought it was, then… I think one of my friends told me it was? But IDK if they’d read the book yet, either. I DON’T EVEN KNOW. :/

  5. OH MY GOD LITERALLY DYING FROM AWESOME HERE.
    Alex as Well – Aussie author so yes, definitely read that.
    I’ll Give You the Sun – you like it or you don’t, basically. It took me a while to get used to the arty writing style.
    Simon Vs – ADORABLE AS HECK.
    Aristotle and Dante – ADORABLE AS HECK ALSO. The relationship only comes right at the end so it’s kind of (maybe?) a spoiler but it made me so so so happy. Fave book of last year.
    ACOTAR – omg, amazing.
    Ask the Passengers – I read this only recently and, yeah, it was really really great. Abusive queer relationships aren’t often addressed and I loved that. Actually it kind of has the same thoughtful, literary-ish writing style as Cameron Post, now I think of it.

    BASICALLY YOU HAVE A LOT OF AWESOME READING TO DO.

    • nevillegirl says:

      YAY YAY YAY.

      Yesssss! That’s one of the reasons I’m excited to read it – I like LGBTQ+ with non-US settings! They’re a nice change from the endless LGBTQ+ YA novels set in American high schools… blah… boring. 😛

      I DO INDEED.

  6. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    I want to read Simon’s so so bad. I keep nudging my library to buy it, gift it to me, and probably present it on a silver platter, with a small bowl of oreos and a red ribbon — bUT FOR SOME REASON THEY’RE IGNORING ME. IT’S SO RUDE. WHAT EVEN. I’ve totally read 6 of these books! *dances* ACOTAR wasn’t as good as I thought it would be? *cries* But it’s still a solid and slightly creepy read. AND I WANNA READ ALL THE GEORGE RR MARTIN OBVIOUSLY. I’ve got 1 more chapter of Part 1 of Storm of Swords *hyperventilates*

  7. moosha23 says:

    Wait – The 5th Wave is a ZOMBIE BOOK? I did not know that *.* I want it all the more now! I’m so interested in books about intersex characters these days and going to add Alex as Well to the list! That cover though *.*

  8. ACOTAR was on my list this week too, I just bought it & am so excited to read it.
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/07/07/top-ten-tuesday-12/

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yay! Have you read any of Sarah K. Maas’ earlier books? I haven’t, so I’m interested to see what her writing style is like…

      • Yes, I’ve read all of the currently released books in the Throne of Glass series and am very impatiently waiting for the next one to be released! Her writing style is very descriptive, kind of cinematic almost, it’s quite easy to picture everything in her books because she paints a very detailed picture.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ooh, that makes me look forward to it even more! 🙂

  9. Mo says:

    Ooh, I really liked Alex as Well. I think I’ve only read two books with an intersex protagonist — Alex as Well and None of the Above — and I think Alex as Well does a nicer job of displaying the social aspects rather than being an infodump.

    I really liked Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe. It was really nice and bittersweet, kind of like The Miseducation of Cameron Post, although it’s less funny. I’ll admit I wasn’t very impressed by Ask the Passengers, but I read it a while ago and might not be remembering it very well.

    I just finished reading Tipping the Velvet, and I’m still processing. I liked it; it found a wonderful balance between sounding Victorian without sounding boring. I’ll admit I found the plot a little weird, because it wasn’t a traditional story arc–it’s styled more or less as a series of adventures, and I’m finding it hard to find another book to compare it to. But I do really recommend it.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ooh, I’m glad to hear that you liked it! (And yeah, I’ve read reviews of None of the Above that said it was basically just a massive infodump.)

      Yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!

      OOH. I soooooo need to read it… VICTORIAN LESBIANS AAAAAAH.
      (Also, that nontraditional story arc sounds like exactly my kind of thing, so now I’m even more excited.)

      • Mo says:

        *nods* None of the Above was also more graphic. Not explicit, but more graphic descriptions of physical transitioning.

        And the audiobook of Ari & Dante is read by Lin Manuel Miranda (who’s a Broadway person) so it’s probably good.

        Yeah! Frankly, the nontraditional way it’s told is a little bit like Cam Post as well — it’s a little slow to get going, but the adventures are wild, and (at least for me) ended in an unexpected way.

        I did get around to reading Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda and it was probably one of the cutest m/m romances I’ve read, and hopefully you’ll like it better than David Levithan’s books. 😛 I’d also say that I’ll Give You the Sun was mediocre, but didn’t make me cringe in any way. But I haven’t read any of the other books on your list.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Oh my goddddd, it’s read by LMM? Now that I know about Hamilton, that’s hilarious.

  10. Brynn says:

    ASK THE PASSENGERS IS!!! A WONDERFUL BOOK!!! As a general whole, the book moved a bit sluggishly for me, but the character development and relationships wERE WONDERFUL AND MADE ME CRY OFTEN. Happy reading!!

  11. AGH READ SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA I literally got it four days ago and have reread it four times since then it’s SOOOOO GOOD. DoS&B is super good! And also, to correct your Aristotle and Dante stuff (just read it idek it’s just beautiful)- they’re both Mexican (diversity yeah) and they don’t actually talk about their orientation (I think) but I’m just being fussy, who cares, it’s just such a good and beautiful book omg.

  12. I’ve read Daughter of Smoke and Bone (beautifully written story but a bit slow *4 stars*), Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda (adorable but not spectacular *3-3.5 stars*), An Ember in the Ashes (GREAT fantasy read but horrible love-triangle *3.5 stars*), Aristotle and Dante (ARE YOU CRAZY? HOW COULD YOU NOT HAVE READ THIS ONE? *5 STARS*) and A Court of Throns and Roses (extremely slow but amazing characterization and world-building so worth it in the end *3.5 stars).

    Have you read Captive Prince yet? 😀

  13. Pingback: 6 Factors That (Probably) Make My Posts Become Popular | Musings From Neville's Navel

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

