August 2011 NaBloPoMo: Which Hogwarts House Would I Be In?

Today’s prompt HAS to be about Harry Potter! 🙂

“If you went to Hogwarts, which house would you be in?”

So that you non-Harry Potter-readers know what I’m talking about, Hogwarts is Harry Potter’s school and there are 4 Houses: Gryffindor, Slytherin, Ravenclaw, and Hufflepuff. Every year, the Sorting Hat sings a song (sometimes a kind of warning) and then Sorts first-year students into Houses based on who they are.

The Sorting Hat’s song is one part of J.K. Rowling’s writing that really reminds me of Roald Dahl’s writing. Look at this  or this (both from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory). This is the song that the Hat sings Harry’s first year, so you know what characteristics students in each House have.

“Oh, you may not think I’m pretty,
But don’t judge on what you see,
I’ll eat myself if you can find
A smarter hat than me.
You can keep your bowlers black,
Your top hats sleek and tall,
For I’m the Hogwarts Sorting Hat
And I can top them all.
There’s nothing hidden in your head
The Sorting Hat can’t see,
So try me on and I will tell you
Where you ought to be.
You might belong in Gryffindor,
Where dwell the brave at heart,
Their daring, nerve and chivalry
Set Gryffindors apart;
You might belong in Hufflepuff,
Where they are just and loyal,
Those patient Hufflepuffs are true
And unafraid of toil;
Or yet in wise old Ravenclaw,
If you’ve a steady mind,
Where those of wit and learning,
Will always find their kind;
Or perhaps in Slytherin
You’ll make your real friends,
Those cunning folk use any means
To achieve their ends.
So put me on! Don’t be afraid!
And don’t get in a flap!
You’re in safe hands (though I have none)
For I’m a Thinking Cap!”

I think I have characteristics of each House.

Hufflepuffs are “just”, “loyal” and “patient”. The students in Hufflepuff are nice, but not very interesting. I like to think of it as the House for witches and wizards who are happy, if a bit dim-witted. Hufflepuff is sort of the House for anyone who’s left over and doesn’t really fit into another House. Some days, I am definitely a Hufflepuff. I’m happy, but then I don’t get a joke or I say something really stupid or silly.

If you have a happy, yet blank, stare on your face, you're a Hufflepuff.

If you have a happy, yet blank, stare on your face, you’re a Hufflepuff.

Ravenclaws are “wise” and like “wit and learning”. They are the nerds of the Harry Potter world. I once took a quiz on “Which House would you be sorted into?” and my result was Ravenclaw. I am a nerd, I like to read, I like to learn, but I don’t really feel like a Ravenclaw.

If you don't think those glasses are weird, you're a Ravenclaw.

If you don’t think those glasses are weird, you’re a Ravenclaw.

Gryffindors are “brave at heart”, “daring”, and “chivalrous”. Harry Potter and most of his friends are Gryffindors. I like the idea of being brave and daring. I think it would be cool to do some of the things that Harry and his friends do (fly on a broomstick, fight Death Eaters, lots of other dangerous things I can’t quite remember at the moment), but I don’t know that I would actually decide to do those things. Maybe I would fly on a broom, but I think if I saw a bunch*** of Death Eaters, I would run away. 🙂 Still, I feel more like a Gryffindor than a Hufflepuff or a Ravenclaw.

If you don't wash your face, you're a Gryffindor.

If you don’t wash your face, you’re a Gryffindor.

Slytherins are “cunning” and “use any means to achieve their ends”. This is the House that Voldemort was in. Also, most of his Death Eaters are from Slytherin. I think Slytherins are a bit like Ravenclaws. They’re definitely clever, but usually in an evil way. Basically, they figure out a way to get whatever they want, which is mostly evil, but sometimes not. I feel a bit like a Slytherin. I think it would be cool to be an evil genius. Slytherins are sneaky, too, and I think that’s cool as well.

"bellatrix lestrange the hunt begins"

If you don’t brush your hair, you’re a Slytherin! What is it with Gryffindors’ and Slytherins’ lack of proper personal hygiene habits?

So… which House do I want to be Sorted into? I pick Slytherin. Smart yet sneaky.

What House would you be in? Leave a comment!

*** What is a group of Death Eaters called? Like a group of cats is called a clowder. This isn’t a joke, is there some special name for them? I vote for posse. A posse of Death Eaters.

This entry was posted in Harry Potter, NaBloPoMo, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to August 2011 NaBloPoMo: Which Hogwarts House Would I Be In?

  1. Mom says:

    OK…..you are just WEIRD! But that’s why we like you! 🙂

  2. Mom says:

    I’ve been forced under duress to declare which house I would belong to. I’m not very sneaky, so Slytherin is out. Gryffindor is definitely not me, as I’m pretty wimpy in the face of danger. However, I like to think I’m patient, loyal, witty, and wise, so can I belong to Huffleclaw or Ravenpuff?

  3. avi says:

    hi. my name’s avi. i like your blog. yes, a group of deatheaters should be a posse.

  4. avi says:

    I would probably end up in Ravenclaw because I am a total nerd.

  5. Sara says:

    *** What is a group of Death Eaters called? Like a group of cats is called a clowder. This isn’t a joke, is there some special name for them? I vote for posse. A posse of Death Eaters.

    ^ I lol’d at that… because it definitely puts you in Ravenclaw 😆

  6. Pingback: Pottermore: A Review | Musings from Neville's Navel

  7. Pingback: Some People Have Too Much Time On Their Hands | Musings from Neville's Navel

  8. frenchorange says:

    I’d put you in…. Slytherdor! (Or whatever you want to call it!) I really like your blog (I subscribed.),
    and you are very, VERY, hilarious. Tell Neville I said hi!

  9. frenchorange says:

    What’s your favorite Harry Potter house?

  10. I’m for sure going to Ravenclaw no matter what that damn hat says!! I’ll be super good friends with Moaning Mrytle and hang out in all those cool bathrooms!

  11. magicfishy says:

    I’m a … Ravenpuff? (I.e. pottermore put me into Hufflepuff but every other test I’ve tried says Ravenclaw). I don’t think I’m particularly dim-witted, but I AM loyal, so… Sure, let’s go with that.

  12. Pingback: Ten Past Posts About “Harry Potter” + One About J.K. Rowling | Musings From Neville's Navel

  13. I think I’d be a Ravenclaw through and through. Either that or maybe there’s like a 0.000001% chance I’d be a Slytherin or a Griffyndor. (A Slytherdor?)

  14. Yes…I’m stalking your archives. >;)
    I’m a Slytherclaw. Because first Pottermore put me as a claw, then snake, and then claw. But I love both!

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.