Quarterly Rewind, Fall 2014 – Movies, TV Shows, Senior Year, And An Awful Lot Of Reading

Hey, everyone! Today is the last day of fall (s0b!) so it’s time for another quarterly rewind. Where did this season go?!

Anyway. This post covers the time from September twenty-second through December twentieth. And as always, the idea of a quarterly rewind is not mine – the credit for that goes to Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner.

P.S. You can find earlier quarterly rewinds here, if you’re interested.

Image From This Fall

DSCN5047

Taken in early December at my house

Favorite Quote From A Book I Read This Fall

“She missed him. She missed his voice, and his humor, and his warm arrogance, and those moments in his company when she realized that this was when she came alive – finally living, by the side of a dead man.”

– Dark Days by Derek Landy

This quote (from the fourth book of the Skulduggery Pleasant series) is the best. I LOVE the friendship between Valkyrie and Skulduggery, and this passage sums it up particularly wonderfully.

Also, I’m just really really fond of happy/sweet Skulduggery Pleasant quotes because I’ve since read several more of the books and the story is SO MUCH DARKER now. “Read Skulduggery Pleasant,” they said. “It’ll be fun!” they said. (Who is/are this mysterious “they”?! Very strange.)

“They,” whoever “they” are, also neglected to tell me that IT WOULD ALSO MAKE ME BAWL LIKE A BABY.

This Fall In One Word

BUSY.

Most Popular Review This Fall

In October I reviewed The Blood of Olympus, the final installment of Rick Riordan’s  Heroes of Olympus series. While the book wasn’t perfect, overall it was a really good conclusion to an amazing middle-grade series! I can’t believe the story is really over now…

Top Two Books I Read This Fall

  1. Blue Lily, Lily Blue is the penultimate installment in Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Cycle, and as always it was BRILLIANT. I’ve never given any of the books in this series anything less than five stars. (And I very rarely rate books that highly, so that should give you a pretty clear idea of how much I enjoyed this novel!)
  2. V for Vendetta by Alan Moore and David Lloyd should be required reading for everyone. This dark, beautiful, dystopian graphic novel earned a five-star rating from me – I’m not used to reading this many absolutely incredible books in only a few months!

Two Things I’m Looking Forward To This Winter

  1. Marissa Meyer’s Fairest, a Lunar Chronicles novella, will be published in late January. I can’t wait!
  2. I’d like to finally start watching the TV shows my friends have recommended to me: Orphan Black, Orange is the New Black, Warehouse 13, Once Upon A Time, and Pretty Little Liars. I also need to finish watching Elementary and Being Human (the UK version) and then I might try its US version.

Three New Obsessions This Fall

  1. I binge-watched the new webseries Carmilla on Thanksgiving Day and OMG I LOVE IT SOOOO MUCH. It’s so funny and awesome and gay.
  2. Speaking of binge-watching: I tend to do things all at once or not at all, don’t I? I started reading Derek Landy’s incredible Skulduggery Pleasant series this summer but finally finished the last eight books all during these past two weeks… and LOVED them.
  3. I watched Pacific Rim and it is an awesome sci-fi movie and I love it a lot. I wish I hadn’t waited so long to watch it; this one would’ve been fun to see in theaters!

Most Popular Five Blog Posts Overall This Fall

  1. My review of The Blood of Olympus was evidently very popular… which is odd, because I received only two comments on that post!
  2. On National Coming Out Day, I listed 32 Things Not To Say When I Come Out To You. People seemed to be confused about this, so I’ll clarify: Yes, people really have told me all of those things – at least once, if not more often.
  3. Cait @ Paper Fury tagged me in the 20 Things You Might Not Know About Me meme! Thanks, Cait!
  4. Bi The Way, It’s Bisexual Visibility Day! was about… you guessed it! Bi Visibility Day! I talked about all sorts of things here: bi erasure, famous bisexual people, YA fiction with bi protagonists, and reasons Captain America should be canonically bisexual.
  5. In Teenage Wasteland – Teens Can Write, Too! November 2014 Blog Chain, I listed what being a teenager means to me.

Five Posts I Loved On Other Blogs This Fall

  1. Mawa Mahima @ All Things Wordy wrote about her bad bookish habits, such as dog-earing the pages, in Reading Habits: A Picturesome Confession.
  2. Miriam Joy @ Miriam Joy Writes talked about history, memories, and Newnham College, Cambridge, in their beautifully written post Here There Are Ghosts.
  3. Cait @ Paper Fury discussed the things she wants to happen in book endings in How Do You Take Your Series Finales?
  4. Thomas @ The Quiet Voice talked about why straight people need to stop stereotyping their LGBTQ+ friends and treating them as accessories in Gay Men Will Not Make You Friends. I later shared this on Facebook because it was just that awesome, and I got a ton of comments on it – seems like a lot of my friends are just as fed up with this problem as I am!
  5. Matt @ The Little Engine That Couldn’t listed some of his favorite characters in Top Ten Game of Thrones Point of View Characters.

Five Things That Happened This Fall

  1. I turned eighteen and began my senior year of high school! And I started a new bloggly feature: Senior Year Saturday, in which I (occasionally) talk about, well, senior-ish stuff.
  2. I co-reviewed series eight of Doctor Who with eleven other bloggers and it was SO MUCH FUN.
  3. I read just a few books. Like, seventy-one.
  4. I saw Mockingjay Part One and The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies and cried a lot. As one does.
  5. I did a lot of college-ish stuff: student housing applications and scholarship essays and whatnot. It wasn’t much fun, but it had to be done.

Six Songs That I Listened To Far Too Often This Fall

1. “Yellow Flicker Beat” (Mockingjay Part One) – Lorde

I love the amount of ATTITUDE in this song. I mean, by this part of the story Katniss is just fed up with, well, everything. With President Snow and District 13 and with some of her family/friends. And that really comes across in this song.

2. “The Hanging Tree” (Mockingjay Part One) – James Newton Howard

This song never really made an impression on me when I read it in the book, but Newton Howard is a musical genius. I love the part with the choir. I cried when this played during the movie; it’s a very haunting scene.

3. “Canceling the Apocalypse” (Pacific Rim) – Ramin Djawadi

I love the main theme, too, but this quiet reprise is my favorite piece from the movie. Very beautiful!

4. “Kung Fu Piano: Cello Ascends” – The Piano Guys

I haven’t actually seen the movie (Kung Fu Panda) that this medley is based on, but so what? That doesn’t stop me from loving this amazing mashup of movie music and Frédéric Chopin’s Prelude Op. 28 No. 20 in C minor. SO. MUCH. PRETTINESS.

5. “City of Blinding Lights” – U2

“The more you see, the less you know / The less you find out as you go / I knew much more then than I do now.” This song makes me feel ALL OF THE EMOTIONS. It kind of reminds me of the Skulduggery Pleasant series. A lot of songs remind me of the characters and plots in my favorite books!

6. “The Last Goodbye” (The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies) – Billy Boyd

Wow. Just… wow. I really didn’t think anything could even come close to the amazingness of the Lord of the Rings’ final end credits song, but “The Last Goodbye” is astonishingly beautiful. It makes me cry, but that’s not so astonishing because let’s face it, I get pretty emotional about Middle-earth.

What did you enjoy most on my blog this fall? And what have you done during these past few months?

This entry was posted in Books and Reading!, Nevillegirl's Adventures!, Non-Neville Posts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Quarterly Rewind, Fall 2014 – Movies, TV Shows, Senior Year, And An Awful Lot Of Reading

  1. moosha23 says:

    Ah, I can’t believe autumn lasted for so long! SO MUCH HAPPENED!
    Oh, it’s so cool to know you enjoyed my little bookish confessions (some of them might get me jailed in the future once book lovers have taken over the world so it was kind of a scary post to write – or “capture” that is).
    In general Lorde’s music is brilliant – I love hearing remixes (I am, not sadly, an EDM/Trap/House/YesThatSortOfStuff junkie) of her stuff – especially Diplo’s remix of her Tennis Court (it adds another dimension – whoa, technical – to the song for me) and makes it so much more fun but also vamps up Lorde’s overall attitude-filled pieces. She’s amazing.
    Whoa you turned 18! In the UK you’re officially an adult, people generally celebrate by clubbing, drinking and credit-card-frauding (ok the last one’s a joke…maybe – no it’s a joke, really) but I imagine my 18th to be celebrated with cake and online shopping (I hate shopping without a goal in mind – unless we’re talking books – BUT, I’m a lazy lass and online shopping – with free delivery – sounds fantastic).

    • nevillegirl says:

      *nodnod* SO MUCH HAPPENED. 😀

      Ehehe, I loved that post! 🙂

      Her songs do have a lot of attitude, don’t they? 🙂 Which makes her the perfect person to sing about Katniss… especially since she’s quite jaded by Mockingjay.

      Ha! I spent my birthday browsing a bookstore because that’s the only kind of shopping *I* enjoy!

  2. Great wrap-up. Ah! So many things to comment on 😀 I’ll have to get around to watching the last Hobbit movie even if a lot of people hated it. YES. I love the Hanging Tree song – shame Jennifer Lawrence hates it so much…we’ll probably never hear her sing again lol. Oooh and I really love that Scrabble photo. It’s awesome ❤

  3. Cait says:

    I ADORE the Hanging Tree song. I just can’t stop humming it. Although there is no way in the world I can get as low as Katniss. 0.0 Her voice is really deep! My sister is an alto so she sings away at it just fine and I’m just there growling like a bear. hehe.
    LOVE THE HOBBIT SONG TOO OF COURSE.
    Piano Guys always are full of win.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Oh my goddddddddddddddd adsghdslghdlsghga her voice. 😀 😀 😀 It is very attractive *blushes* and I could listen to her talk all day. She could, like, read the dictionary or something else really boring and I’d still sit there and listen quite happily. 😛

      I know, right?! Whenever I listen to their medleys I always think about how many other instruments I’d love to learn someday…

  4. Thomas says:

    Ah, I love how you spend time not only writing new posts, but you also reflect on your old ones to see what works and what you might want to change. Such a thorough quarterly review – congratulations on still posting a ton while completing the challenges of senior year, such as applications and what not. Also, thank you for sharing my blog post with people; I feel glad that others care about the issue and have reacted in a way similar to mine. Keep up all the fantastic writing!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah, I love recapping what I’ve written earlier – and it doesn’t hurt that quarterly rewinds are super-easy to write because it’s just a matter of making lists and linking to things! 😛

      Of course! I really loved it. I don’t think I remembered to comment on it, though… I’ll have to fix that! 😛

  5. Alexandrina Brant says:

    Love that scrabble picture. The colours and focus really draw attention to the lettering. Plus, X is for xmas 😉
    I think I am one of the mysterious ‘they’, yes? Aww, you cried. I’m not going to apologise. I has the feels, but not the tears.
    Is V for Vendetta the novel on which the film is based?
    Wait, you’ve never seen Once Upon a Time?? Great show. We are a season and a half behind in the UK. *sigh* That reminds me… *finds favourites and Elementary* I managed to get it to play in English, so thanks for sending the link 🙂
    You read 71 books?? I read 2…I think. And 3 non-fic. I think. Uhh. I need to keep better track.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Thanks! (Ooh, I hadn’t thought of it that way, but you’re right – X for Xmas!)

      Yes, yes you are. 😛 I have way too many Skulduggery Pleasant feels right now and I’m hoping to finish the series no later than Christmas Day… I have just three books left. (Well, technically two of them, but I’m counting Armageddon Outta Here as well.)

      Yep, it is. Is the movie any good? I’ve never seen it.

      Nope, I haven’t! But I want to! And how did you get it to do that?! I’m still trying to figure it out!!

      Ehehe, yeah, I read a loooooooot. I basically do nothing else in my free time… just reading and writing, that’s all. I don’t have much of a social life. xD

      • Alexandrina Brant says:

        *grins*
        The Dying of the Light is a pretty chunky book… I’ve not read Amageddon yet – don’t know when it came out, but I’ve not been near bookshops for a while.

        I enjoyed it. It’s quite dramatic, but the plot and characters are strong.

        I…err. Umm. I think I clicked on something along the right side. Hmph, I will have to go back and look again 😛

        Well…yeah, makes sense *shrugs* Though, I’ve just done another batch of querying, so instead of writing, I’ve been researching.

    • nevillegirl says:

      Have you read The Dying of the Light yet?
      (I think Armageddon Outta Here was published this summer. But I’m not sure about that.)

      I’ll have to see if the movie is on Netflix! 😀

    • nevillegirl says:

      Is it any good? Feels-y?

    • nevillegirl says:

      I look forward to it… I hope! 😛

  6. Mo says:

    For me, this fall has been filled with applications, as well as quite a bit of school and going to a bunch of theatre stuff and it has all gone by in a blur. I’m finding it hard to pin down what actually happened to me this fall, cause it’s been pretty busy.

    I’ve been listening to a lot of good music this fall as well. What I’ve had on repeat are songs like “Diana” by The Sounds, “When I Grow Up” by Garbage (plus some other songs featured in Warehouse 13), I Fight Dragon’s “Alien for Christmas,” and “I Will Never Leave You” from Sideshow. More recently I’ve been listening to “Freedom” from The Unauthorized Autobiography of Samantha Brown, and this playlist a lot.

    • nevillegirl says:

      That’s what I liked about these quarterly rewind posts – they force me to remember what I did, and to look through old posts to see what was important to me during certain months. Otherwise I’m usually like, “Uh… I did… stuff this month. I don’t know.” 😛

      I’ve never even heard of any of those songs/bands. Which ones do you think I’d like, though? 🙂
      (Ooh, I’ll have to check out that playlist! I like how its description is just like, “Also, lesbians.”)

      • Mo says:

        I try to keep an offline journal but I go through phases of writing every day to slowing down to every few weeks and I’m so behind right now and there are weeks where I can’t remember doing anything.

        Um… hmm. I think you’d like Freedom (my preferred version), but the others are more iffy. “Diana” and “When I Grow Up” are more punk/heavy-beat kind of songs, and “I Will Never Leave You” is a slower, more jazz-like song, but it’s very pretty.
        (…yes, in fact, the final snog song on the playlist, Beatrice Eli’s “Girls” makes me think of you.)

    • nevillegirl says:

      Yeah, I’ve tried to keep a journal, but it’s just not very interesting for me, so…

      (Yay!)

  7. Taylor Lynn says:

    Well, weren’t you a busy little bee this fall? 😉 Seriously though, I’m reading my 86th book OF THE YEAR, Nevillegirl. How did you read that many books in THREE MONTHS? And still have time for, oh, I don’t know, scholarship essays and blogging and binge watching webseries?! I DON’T UNDERSTAND.

    Also–awesome Scrabble photo! (I love Scrabble, no surprises there.) And way belated happy 18th birthday!! I turned 18 the month before you did; so exciting. Did you vote this year?

    • nevillegirl says:

      BECAUSE I’M SUPERWOMAN, THAT’S HOW. 😀

      Ehehe, I wish I could tele-transport you to my house so you could play Scrabble with my mom! She loves that game – despite being a word nerd, I hate it. I guess I prefer games that are fairly mindless? I may still be a fan of Candyland…
      Of course I did! Because I got an “I voted!” sticker. How about you?!

      • Taylor Lynn says:

        Haha, I’d take you up on that–it’s one of my favorite games! 😉

        And yes, I did vote! It was one of the most exciting things about turning 18 for me. I got a sticker, too, woohoo!

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, I felt so responsible and grown-up!

      • Taylor Lynn says:

        Yes!! Also, I’d been a nerd the year before, bouncing around in the car when my parents went to vote and getting all excited because DEMOCRACY and MAKE A DIFFERENCE and DO YOUR PART because that’s the kind of person I am, so it was super exciting to actually vote myself! 😉

  8. Such a pretty Scrabble picture… GAH I need to read Skullduggery Pleasant. You’re fangirling about it and I just went to the library and forgot to look *headdesks*.
    BUSY lol that sums up pretty much everything. I’ll have to read V for Vendetta, sometime, too, from your rec and here! YAY Fairest I’m so excited!
    I’m so eager to see Mockingjay, too, we were going to watch Catching Fire as a family but my sister freaked out when they were burning the Hob so only half of us will go. 🙂 Oooh, the new Hobbit looks great! I need to see the others, very excited! Was it good? Wow, the way they did The Hanging Tree is so cool! I love Yellow Flicker Beat…
    I’m in love with The Last Goodbye now. So many emotions and feels, and I haven’t even seen the Hobbit movies…

  9. GAH LIFE HAS KEPT ME FROM NERDING OUT ON YOUR BLOG ENGIE NOW I’M BACK AND I’M SO SO SO SO SO HAPPY! 😀 Ah, I need to watch Carmilla, Pacific Rim, all three Hunger Games movies, and all three Hobbit movies! I haven’t been watching ANY television since break started a week ago, I’ve been busy burying my nose in books, and of course I need to watch anything you recommend. (Btw: Orphan Black is on my TBW list, too!) I didn’t watch the Hunger Games movies because they seemed to gory and I don’t especially have a high tolerance for blood. I did reread the books over Thanksgiving, though, and found I liked them a lot more than before. 😀 On the topic of music, I’ve been listening to a rather lot of it lately, considering I almost never listen to music. I’ve been completely obsessed with all the Doctor Who soundtracks, especially “This is Gallifrey: Our Childhood, Our Home” (DYING of all the feels here!). I really need to read Skulduggery Pleasant! So many bloggers have been recommending the series to me! 😛

    (Ooh, I really like the Scrabble image! Nice shot. 😀 ) *scurries off to read those posts by other amazing awesomesome bloggers*

    • nevillegirl says:

      Ehehe, I get sooooo behind on reading blogs too, because I follow SO many. 🙂

      Yes, yes you do!

      Oh my gosh, YES. I love DW music – I’m actually listening to a medley of “Clara’s Theme” right now – and I’d be happy to fangirl with you/give recommendations.

      I ❤ the SP series so much!

      Thank you! I'm pretty proud of it. 🙂

What do you think? Share the musings from your navel!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.